Links
🔒

Lock

Have users fill in a Password, Authorization level or User Group to unlock content in your app.
Allows you to lock certain content unless the app user meets certain requirements. The block can be unlocked using a password, authorization level or User Group members.

Adding the Lock block

  1. 1.
    Click on + block.
  2. 2.
    Select the Lock block on the Plus Tab and click Add this block.
  3. 3.
    Select if you want to unlock the content below with an Authorization Level, User Group, and Password.
  4. 4.
    Click Continue.
  5. 5.
    Fill in the name of the block.
  6. 6.
    Click on the icon if you want to change the image used in the menu.
    • Replace allows you to choose from a wide range of AppMachine icons or upload your own.
    • Remove removes the icon so that only text is used.
  7. 7.
    When you’re done, click Add this Block.
  8. 8.
    Make sure to fill in the desired value or password in the Settings screen:
    • Password: Fill in the password and click the Save button;
    • Authorization Level: Users need to have the required authorization level in order to access this content.
    • User Groups: Users need to be members of a specific user group or groups to access this content.
  9. 9.
    Drag the blocks you want locked beneath the Lock block.
    • All blocks located under one Lock block can be unlocked with the same Password, User Group, or Authorization level.
    • Once the block has been unlocked, all other blocks under the same lock block are unlocked.
      The image above shows how you should place the block(s) you wish to lock. The Information block is nested below the Lock block.
  10. 10.
    Change the text that is shown when a user selects a locked block.
Please Note:
  • Once the content is unlocked and you change the password afterwards, the content will not be automatically locked again. If you want to lock new content, you need to add a new lock block and place the content under the new block.
  • The Lock block doesn't appear as an actual button or tab in your app but applies a lock screen to the blocks found within it. For this reason, the Lock block's name and icon will not be seen in the app.

Customising the Field Descriptions

  1. 1.
    Select the Lock block in your app.
  2. 2.
    Make sure the Settings tab is selected.
  3. 3.
    Customise the following fields
  • Lock image: 
The message that will be shown in the screen before the user unlocked the block;
  • Description: The text that is shown to the user, before the screen is unlocked. Tell them where they can find the unlock code or password and what they will find after they have unlocked the block;
  • Lock type: if the block is protected using a password, authorization level, or user group;
  • Value: the value which needs to be filled in to unlock the content behind.
  • To save the changes, click Save.

Configuring the Lock block

Now that you've added the Lock block, it's time to configure it. There are only two settings screens available here: Settings and Design.
Settings allows you to influence how the block will function and the Design settings will determine the aesthetics of the block.

Settings

Here you can change a number of things like:
  • The name of the building block
  • The icon that will show up in the app menu
  • The values of the different Lock block fields.
Should the need arise to keep the users of your published app from using this portion of the app, then you can always make use of the ON/OFF selector.
Change the selector to OFF to keep users from seeing the Lock block. Now you can continue developing your app without worrying about users coming upon areas that you haven't finished developing as of yet. Once you are satisfied with your progress, change the selector back to ON to publish this portion of your app.

Design

These settings allow you to make aesthetic changes to your app in magnificent detail.
Last modified 1yr ago